Book Review: “New Morning Mercies”

For years, I have been looking for a daily devotional that isn’t just fluff. One that will point me to Christ without trying to make me feel better or gloss over familiar Scriptures. I wanted something that had substantial MEAT to do, that would cause me to think, and draw me closer to Christ in the process.

I have FINALLY found one. New Morning Mercies: A Daily Gospel Devotional by Paul David Tripp is a book that contains 365 mini counseling sessions in one book. Each day’s worth of wisdom contains a quick 1-2 sentence summary of the main devotion and a passage to read in your own Bible for further examination at the end. The devotions themselves cover a variety of topics all revolving around the central theme of God’s never-ending mercies that are renewed each morning. Each devotion points you back the Savior and His redeeming work of grace on the cross.

Some days are harder to read than others. Each day’s reading takes time and thoughtfulness. This is not a devotional that is meant to be read and simply set aside. It is something to ponder and consider throughout the day.

While this book starts with January 1 and ends with December 31, it can be started at any time of the year and the reader won’t feel lost. In fact, I started it in August and have enjoyed every reading so far. Because the readings are so varied yet centrally themed, this is a book that can be read again and again.

I love that this book provides substance to chew on, thoughts to mull throughout the day. This book is great for individuals, couples, or even small groups. My WOW group uses this book as a guide, something that we all read and have in common, although we don’t always discuss it at our weekly meetings. It’s nice to have another resource from a renown Christian author that you can refer back to multiple times and still glean something each time.

If you’re looking for some spiritual insights into God’s great mercy and grace, I highly recommend that you pick up a copy of New Morning Mercies: A Daily Gospel Devotional by Paul David Tripp.

**This is an independent book review. I have not be paid or otherwise compensated for my individual thoughts of this book.**

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a comment