Book Review: “A Special Kind of Love”

Book Review: “A Special Kind of Love” by Susan Titus Osborn and Janet Lynn Mitchell

God made each person uniquely. He made us all different from each other. We all “know” this, but do we know how to deal with those who are more “different” from us than others.

Growing up with a brother with special needs, I saw my parents fight to get him the education he needed and deserved. I also saw them struggle to maintain their marriage due to the added stress of raising a special needs son. While I didn’t know life any differently from what I had, I knew that my brother was unlike any of my friends’ siblings. My brother is one reason why I became a special education teacher.

Special needs families often feel isolated, sometimes ridiculed, always misunderstood. I’m so thankful that my local church is taking steps to not only embrace the individuals in our community who have special needs, but also their families.

In their book, “A Special Kind of Love”, Susan Titus Osborn and Janet Lynn Mitchell have compiled stories from parents, grandparents, teachers, caregivers, and siblings of special needs kiddos, as well as those special children themselves. They candidly share their struggles and victories, their disappointments and discouragements, their celebrations and times of joy and laughter. They convey what life looks like in the routine day-to-day activities as well as the excruciating times of medical emergencies.

“A Special Kind of Love” by Susan Titus Osborn and Janet Lynn Mitchell is written to those people who “love children with special needs”, not just for parents. By reading this book, you can’t help but develop an empathy for these kiddos and want to jump into action and help these families. This book provides a bunch of great insight into what special needs families need or desire, what can be helpful and what can be hurtful, as well as a glimpse into the spiritual lives of these precious families.

I had read this book when I first became a special ed teacher, over two decades ago. I can sincerely say that the struggle of these families is still very real and, most likely, has more dynamics to it. However, this book is still relevant as I reread it now.

I highly recommend “A Special Kind of Love” for families of special needs kids who feel isolated or alone.
I highly recommend “A Special Kind of Love” for caregivers, teachers, grandparents, friends of the family, or anyone who works with these children.
I highly recommend “A Special Kind of Love” for anyone who simply doesn’t understand what it’s like to live with a special needs child on a day-by-day basis.

This book is well written, easy to read, is honest and sincere, and can be eye-opening to the lay community. I highly recommend this book.

**This is an independent book review. I have not been paid or otherwise compensated for my individual opinion of this book.**

Leave a comment