Book Review: “When God Doesn’t Fix It”

If you listen to Christian music, especially on the radio, then you have heard the song “Blessings” by Laura Story. The first time I heard this song it was sung by a young woman at my church.

This song was so simply accompanied (just a piano) but the words were powerful. I LOVE knowing the story behind the song, so when I saw that the musician has written a book, I knew I had to read it.

I came across the book When God Doesn’t Fix It while I was looking for other books online. But the title stuck out to me because there have been multiple times in my life when I have prayed and begged for God to fix a person or a situation but it seemed like He didn’t hear me or answer my prayer.

When God Doesn’t Fix It is a beautifully written account of the Laura Story’s life and the dramatic turn it took when her husband, Marin, was diagnosed with a brain tumor. Throughout the book, she tells the story of life before, during, and after Martin’s diagnosis and treatments. However, she couldn’t quite finish the story because she’s still living it.

Even though her story isn’t complete, that doesn’t mean that she can’t share it and that God won’t use it. Laura’s vulnerability and honesty throughout the book let you know that you are NOT alone when you have trials and you feel like God isn’t there. She shares how God has replaced His truth with different myths we learn in life, such as “you can’t share you testimony until it all works out”.

Reading about how her physical trials strengthened her spiritual journey was very uplifting, especially as I was traveling down a path of physical struggles. (Read about that here.) I was able to relate to Laura throughout the book and have been able to dispel some of the myths and replace them with truth. I also enjoyed reading about how the songs “Blessings” came about.

I loved how Laura Story incorporates different heroes of our faith and how God was able to use their flawed stories for His glory. God was active and involved back then and He’s still active and involved today.

If you’re going through a hard time, if you like Christians music and enjoying learning the stories behind the songs, or if you’re just looking for a good book, I highly recommend reading When God Doesn’t Fix It by Laura Story. You won’t be disappointed!

when god doesnt fix it review

**This is an independent book review. I have not be paid or otherwise compensated for my honest review of this book.**

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

 

Leave a comment