Chicken Broccoli Divan

One recipe that my family LOVES is Chicken Broccoli Divan. I love this recipe because it’s easy to make and freezes well. My family loves this recipe because it’s Y U M M Y!!!

So, when we started trying to eat “cleanier” and cut back on some unnecessary carbs, this was a recipe I cut from our menu.

Then I decided to try to “clean it up” myself. First, I used my own homemade broccoli cheese soup (click here for the recipe). Then, I doubled the broccoli and chicken. I also cut the amount of brown rice and cheese.

I’ll admit…I was a bit skeptical the first time I made it, but I was pleasantly surprised. It turned out great and my family didn’t notice any difference!  My husband said it was more filling and my son…well, he didn’t say anything because he was too busy chowing down!

I love how just a few modifications to family favorite recipes can make them healthier and MORE SATISFYING without compromising on taste.

I typically divide this recipe into two small casserole dishes and freeze one for future use (before I bake it). Two meals with one prep….win-win!!!

I hope your family enjoys it as much as we do!

Chicken Broccoli Divan

Servings: 8
Portion Fix Container Count (per serving): 1 ½ Green, 1 Red, 1 Yellow, 1 Blue

Ingredients

2 package frozen broccoli, steamed
3 cups broccoli cheese soup (click here for recipe) or 2 cans broccoli cheese soup
4 cups brown rice, cooked (2 cups uncooked)
1 cup shredded cheddar cheese
6 chicken breasts, cooked and cut into bite size pieces or shredded
1 ingredients

Directions
1. Preheat oven to 450*.
2. Place broccoli cheese soup in large mixing bowl.
2 soup in bowl
3. Shred or cut cooked chicken breasts.
3 shredded chick
4. Add cooked rice, steamed broccoli, and chicken to bowl. Mix well.


5. In prepared dish (1-9×13 dish or 2 smaller ones), evenly divide mixture.
6 in dish
6. Top with shredded cheese.
7 top with cheese
7. Bake at 450 for 20 minutes covered, then 5 minutes uncovered.
8 baked
8. Enjoy!
9 plated

Chicken Broccoli Divan

  • Servings: 8
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

A clean and delicious alternative to the ever-popular Chicken Broccoli Divan. Portion Fix Container Count included.


Portion Fix Container Count: 1 ½ Green, 1 Red, 1 Yellow, 1 Blue

Ingredients

  • 2 package frozen broccoli, steamed
  • 3 cups broccoli cheese soup (click here for recipe) or 2 cans broccoli cheese soup
  • 4 cups brown rice, cooked (2 cups uncooked)
  • 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese
  • 6 chicken breasts, cooked and cut into bite size pieces or shredded

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 450*.
  2. Place broccoli cheese soup in large mixing bowl.
  3. Shred or cut chicken breasts.
  4. Add cooked rice, steamed broccoli, and chicken to bowl. Mix well.
  5. In prepared dish (1-9×13 dish or 2 smaller ones), evenly divide mixture.
  6. Top with shredded cheese.
  7. Bake at 450 for 20 minutes covered, then 5 minutes uncovered.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Leave a Reply

