Offertory – July 16, 2017

Click here to read about the purpose of offertory, then continue reading about my thoughts on this week’s selections.

Morning Service – For the morning service, I will be playing “A Mighty Fortress Is Our God” by Martin Luther, based on Psalm 46. This arrangement (© 2006 by Hal Leonard Corporation) is meant to be steadily. It has a lot of dynamic (volume) changes and the time signature changes often as well. It has bold sections, flowing sections, and all those inbetween. It reminds me of our God…He is bold yet calm, loving yet just, compassionate yet strong, servant yet LORD. Most importantly, “His Kingdom is forever!”

Here are the lyrics:

A mighty fortress is our God,
a bulwark never failing;
our Helper He amid the flood
of mortal ills prevailing.
For still our ancient foe
doth seek to work us woe;
His craft and power are great,
and armed with cruel hate,
on earth is not His equal.

Did we in our own strength confide,
our striving would be losing,
were not the right man on our side,
the man of God’s own choosing.
Dost ask who that may be?
Christ Jesus, it is He;
Lord Sabaoth, His name,
from age to age the same,
and He must win the battle.

And though this world, with devils filled,
should threaten to undo us,
we will not fear, for God hath willed
his truth to triumph through us.
The Prince of Darkness grim,
we tremble not for him;
his rage we can endure,
for lo, his doom is sure;
one little word shall fell him.

That word above all earthly powers,
no thanks to them, abideth;
the Spirit and the gifts are ours,
thru him who with us sideth.
Let goods and kindred go,
this mortal life also;
the body they may kill;
God’s truth abideth still;
His kingdom is forever.

Evening Service – For the evening service, I chose the hymn “Jesus, I Come” by William T Sleeper and George C Stebbins (Baptist Hymnal #439 (C) 2008 LifeWay Worship). I chose this hymn simply because of the words. Sometimes, like the past few weeks, when I have no words to say to Jesus to communicate how I’m feeling, I simply come. I come to Him and sit at His feet, knowing that He already sees my heart and hears my pleads for mercy and peace. Lord Jesus, I come to You!

Here are the lyrics:

Out of my bondage, sorrow and night, Jesus, I come, Jesus, I come;
Into Thy freedom, gladness, and light, Jesus, I come to Thee;
Out of my sickness, into Thy health, Out of my want and into Thy wealth,
Out of my sin and into Thyself, Jesus, I come to Thee.

Out of my shameful failure and loss, Jesus, I come, Jesus, I come;
Into the glorious gain of Thy cross, Jesus, I come to Thee;
Out of earth’s sorrows, into Thy balm, Out of life’s storms and into Thy calm,
Out of distress to jubilant psalm, Jesus, I come to Thee.

Out of unrest and arrogant pride, Jesus, I come, Jesus, I come;
Into Thy blessed will to abide, Jesus, I come to Thee;
Out of myself to dwell in Thy love, Out of despair, into raptures above,
Upward for aye on wings like a dove, Jesus, I come to Thee.

Out of the fear and dread of the tomb, Jesus, I come, Jesus, I come;
Into the joy and light of Thy home, Jesus, I come to Thee;
Out of the depths of ruin untold, Into the peace of Thy sheltering fold,
Ever Thy glorious face to behold, Jesus, I come to Thee.

7_16_17 off pic

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Leave a Reply

