Offertory – January 29, 2017

I am SO excited for this week’s offertory!  I’ve had more time (and energy) to spend practicing this week so I pray that I’m better prepared to lead the congregation in worshiping God.

Sunday Morning Service – In the morning service, I’ll be playing one of my all-time favorite praise songs, “Shout to the Lord”. I LOVE this song because of how it proclaims the majesty of Christ. It weaves Scripture references in every line. I also love this song because I enjoy singing and signing it. You see, my mom taught a group of us how to sign this song using American Sign Language when we were preparing to go on a missions trip to Jamaica in 2005. We were going to minister to a deaf school…but we’ll save that post for another day.

“Shout to the Lord” by Darlene Zschech © 1993 Darlene Zschech/Hillsong Publishing

My Jesus, my Savior,
Lord there is none like You.
All of my days I want to praise
The wonders of Your mighty love.

My comfort, my shelter,
Tower of refuge and strength.
Let every breath, all that I am
Never cease to worship You.

Shout to the Lord all the Earth, let us sing
Power and majesty, praise to the King!
Mountains bow down and the seas will roar
At the sound of Your name!

I sing for joy at the work of Your hand.
Forever I’ll love You, forever I’ll stand.
Nothing compares to the promise I have
In You.

Sunday Evening Service – For the evening service, I think we will be on the theme of Christ as a shepherd searching for and leading His sheep. So, I chose “Jesus! What A Friend for Sinners.” I picked this song because I’ve had a tough week with temptation, particularly giving into temptation even when I knew it was wrong. The second verse really stuck out to me. I hope this song blesses and encourages you as it did for me.

“Jesus! What a Friend for Sinners” by J. Wilbur Chapman (Baptist Hymnal #156, Arr. © 2008 Broadman Press)

Jesus! what a Friend for sinners!
Jesus! Lover of my soul;
Friends may fail me, foes assail me,
He, my Savior, makes me whole.

Refrain

Hallelujah! what a Savior!
Hallelujah! what a Friend!
Saving, helping, keeping, loving,
He is with me to the end.

Jesus! what a Strength in weakness!
Let me hide myself in Him.
Tempted, tried, and sometimes failing,
He, my Strength, my victory wins.

Refrain

Jesus! what a Help in sorrow!
While the billows over me roll,
Even when my heart is breaking,
He, my Comfort, helps my soul.

Refrain

Jesus! what a Guide and Keeper!
While the tempest still is high,
Storms about me, night overtakes me,
He, my Pilot, hears my cry.

Refrain

Jesus! I do now receive Him,
[or Jesus! I do now adore Him,]
More than all in Him I find.
He hath granted me forgiveness,
I am His, and He is mine.

Refrain

 

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Leave a Reply

